Upgrade to U-verse was a struggle… Part 3 – Stormy Weather

On the morning of the 11th, I still had my old dsl service active. I headed out for the days activities looking forward to the new service being active when I returned home, or maybe soon after.

As I was returning home a little before 2 in the afternoon, a storm was moving in from the west, and as it approached my neighborhood, it formed into a F0 tornado, and did some damage to my fence (that’s another story) and also left me without power. A side note here for Oncor, as their guys worked through the night, and my power was back on at about 3 the next morning. As consumers, we owe them some appreciation for their dedication. So on the morning of the 12th, I get up with power restored, to find my old dsl service no longer was active, so as I had been instructed on the 9th, I disconnected the old modem, and connected the new one, expecting to find that the service had been switched, and I should be good to go. No Joy, so I called AT&T U-verse support, and was reminded that they did not answer phones before 8 AM, so I killed a little time, and gave them a call at 8:01, and was informed that they were experiencing a high call volume, so it would take some time to answer my call. They did answer after just a few minutes, and I then spent about 20 minutes on the phone with a couple of different levels of support, to find that everything seemed OK on their end, and yes, it seemed OK on my end too, so they would send out a technician to solve the problem. About 2:30 in the afternoon, the same technician from the 9th arrives, does basically the same things support had me do that morning, and tells me the problem must be on the line somewhere, he would put in a call for someone to fix the line, and that they should be here in about an hour, thanks, see ya. Well 2 hours later, I am on the phone with U-verse support again, asking where the line tech that was supposed to show up in an hour was, and when were they going to get my service going again? The support person on the phone told me they saw no line technician scheduled to come out that day, and the soonest one could be scheduled would be Saturday morning, and there was nothing I could do to get someone sooner. So I’m thinking great, another day plus without a service that I am paying for. Great. So I told them yes, go ahead and schedule someone for Saturday, and resigned myself to waiting, again. On Friday, the 13th of all days, a line tech shows up, saying he was here to get my service going. Well, to his credit, he spent 5 minutes at my house, 20 minutes up the street on the pole, and another 5 minutes at my house, and yes, he did get my U-verse service going. Thank You.

Saturday rolls around, and my service is on and OK, when another line tech shows up late in the morning, saying he is here to fix my service! I let him know it had already been fixed, and all was OK, no need to do anything.

Next installment – Clear Skies Ahead? I will sum up my thoughts, and the questions I still have,  see if there were any answers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

